Historical Church Entrance Restored to Its Original Glory
Decorative Flake Flooring
About the Historical Church Entrance Restored to Its Original Glory
The Woodfords Church dates to 1872. Nestled on what was then known as Spring Street, the original church was designed by Francis Fassett and E.F Fassett – both of whom are recognized for designing many distinctive buildings throughout Portland. Many of their buildings still stand today. The steeple bell was donated by two daughters of the infamous early settler, James Deering.
In 1956 the new Woodfords Church was built, and the steeple bell was transferred from the original location to its new home. The church, with its bright steeple visible from so many places in the city, takes its place amongst the Portland skyline as individuals come together and form a place of community.